The BJP emerged as the single largest party in the Karnataka Assembly Election 2018 vote-count but is eight seats short of simple majority. The Times of India News App for Latest India News, Copyright © 2020 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. He also added that the BJP’s attempt to poach JD(S) legislators “will backfire as there are people who are willing to leave the BJP to support us”. The term “Operation Kamala” was coined in 2008. Karnataka election results 2018: BJP's Yeddyurappa sworn-in as Karnataka CM; Congress-JD (S) protests at Vidhan Sabha, Your one-stop destination for all the information, Farmers' protest: Intense drama at Delhi-Haryana border, Covid-19: India to consider clinical trials data of two full doses of AstraZeneca vaccine, MiG-29K aircraft crashes into sea; pilot goes missing, Ladakh standoff: 'No meaningful progress' over troop disengagement between India and China, 26/11 Mumbai attack: Bhopal artists pay homage to martyrs by making floral rangoli, Another 26/11-like terror strike in India almost impossible, says Rajnath Singh, 7 Skincare and beauty products that are worth giving a shot, Terms of Use and Grievance Redressal Policy. Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) leader HD Kumaraswamy on Wednesday hit out at the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and accused it of resorting to dirty tricks like horse trading to ensure that it forms the next government in Karnataka. | Shreyash Devalkar Of Axis Mutual Fund To ET NOW, ‘Stop Adani’ protesters disrupt India-Aus ODI at Sydney, Telangana health department warns Covid-19 patients on polls, Jasmine threatens to tell personal things about Rubina, Bengal: TMC's Suvendu Adhikari resigns as transport minister, Foxconn to shift some Apple production to Vietnam. Karnataka CM 2018: What is ‘Operation Kamala’? Karnataka CM Self Employment Scheme Apply Online Process. The JD(S), which has joined hands with the Congress, accused the Bharatiya Janata Party of offering Rs 100 crore and cabinet berths to its newly-elected MLAs. The Times of India brings to you minute-by-minute updates. Why are JD(S), Congress referring to it to hit out at BJP? The Chief Minister of Karnataka is the chief executive of the Indian state of Karnataka.As per the Constitution of India, the governor is a state's de jure head, but de facto executive authority rests with the chief minister.Following elections to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly, the state's governor usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the government. It is said that former minister G Janardhana Reddy, also the mining baron, chalked out a plan to bypass the Anti-Defection Law and get the backing of MLAs so that the BJP secures more than 112 seats. Ramesh Kumar elected Karnataka Assembly Speaker. Though former CM Siddaramaiah was scheduled to inaugurate the new office in March 2018 before the last Assembly elections, the inaugural programme was cancelled. Here is the complete online application procedure for Karnataka CM Self Employment Scheme 2018-19. Congress’ K.R. It was reported that the BJP allegedly used political and money power to woo three Congress MLAs and four JD-S MLAs, who contested by-polls on BJP ticket. Yediyurappa appears to have taken a U-Turn.. A single page letter addressing the people of the state was released by the Chief Minister’s Office Friday, indicating that people are allowed to sell and use green firecrackers during Diwali. BS Yeddyurappa became Karnataka’s Chief Minister, the first one to lead the BJP to power, but had to tender resignation in 2011 over corruption allegations. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service, TIMESOFINDIA.COM | May 18, 2018, 10:06 IST, Both the BJP and a post-poll alliance of the Congress and the JD(S) have staked claim to form the government. Ramesh Kumar was on May 25 unanimously elected the Speaker of the Karnataka Assembly, after BJP candidate S. … Congress leader and Karnataka outgoing Chief Minister too had earlier targeted BS Yeddyurappa, saying that the BJP’s chief ministerial candidate strategized “Operation Kamala”. The BJP emerged as the single largest party in the Karnataka Assembly Election results 2018, but is eight seats short of a simple majority. As per Siddaramaiah, under the “operation Kamala”, opposition parties were weakened when the BJP was in power in Karnataka. Karnataka: BJP MLA booked for assaulting woman councilor, Karnataka By-Polls: Prestige Battle For Parties, COVID-19 Surge: 6 states impose complete firecracker ban, Karnataka revokes ban & imposes curbs, Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa issues an order on the ban of firecrackers amid Coronavirus pandemic. Firstly, visit the official website of Chief Ministers Self-Employment Generation Programme i.e. Out of seven, five won, taking the BJP’s tally to 115. | Arnab Banerjee Of CEAT Tyres To ET NOW, Pent-Up Demand To Drive Growth? | Pranjul Bhandari Of HSBC To ET NOW, Broader Markets Catching Up? In 2008 Karnataka Assembly Elections, the BJP, with BS Yeddyurappa as its CM face, won 110 seats, falling short of the majority by three seats. “We heard that they (BJP) are trying to do Operation Kamala (Operation Lotus) now also,” Kumaraswamy said while addressing a press conference. The 2018 Karnataka Legislative Assembly election was held on 12 May 2018 in 222 … * Supreme Court will resume hearing on Congress-JD(S) plea against Karnataka governor's decision to invite BJP to form government in the state today. Amid the tussle over government formation in Karnataka in the wake of a fractured split, the Janata Dal-Secular and Congress are making all efforts to keep the BJP away from power in the southern state. Bengaluru: Amid the tussle over government formation in Karnataka in the wake of a fractured verdict, the Janata Dal-Secular and the Congress are making all efforts to keep the BJP away from assuming office in the southern state.; On the homepage, click on “Apply Online” option BS Yeddyurappa  |  Photo Credit: PTI, M&M Sells Auto Service Business To TVS | VS Parthasarathy Of M&M To ET NOW, Nifty hovers around 12,950 mark; Neilsen downgrades FMGC forecast & More | Top Headlines | 27 Nov, Demand-Driven Rebound At Play? * BJP leader B S Yeddyurappa has been sworn-in as the Karnataka Chief Minister on Thursday, May 17, 2018. Bengaluru: Hours after announcing a decision to ban sale and use of firecrackers during Diwali, Karnataka Chief Minister B.S.